Featured Student: Olexandra May Solomka

How old are you?

22

Can you tell us about your background:

Fine Art (BA) from Loughborough University

What drew you to fashion?

I attended a summer course at LCF titled: ‘Contemporary Fashion: A Cultural Perspective’ and found the theories surrounding fashion and the mass media enthralling, and wanted to find a course which focused on this. I’m not so interested in ‘clothing’ though, I don’t really know which colour is in season.

Why did you join this MA?

As touched upon above, I found I was interested in the politics of fashion; especially regarding race and gender; this was the only course in the UK offering what I wanted.

Where do you hope to be in two years from now?

Ideally, either studying for my PhD or working for a magazine…

Why didn’t you go for a journalism degree?

I would rather have the option of going into academia OR journalism, than just journalism.

4 thoughts on “Featured Student: Olexandra May Solomka

  1. Pingback: Q&A with Caryn Franklin | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  2. Pingback: ¨There Are No Shops For Women Of My Age¨ | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  3. Pingback: Dissertation Proposal: Ukrainian Fashionability | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  4. Pingback: Dissertation Proposal : Ukrainian Fashionability | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

Leave a Reply

