Featured Student: Paula Alaszkiewicz

How old are you?
23

Can you tell us about your background?
I have an undergraduate degree in Art History and History from McGill University in Montreal. In Montreal I completed a curatorial internship in the Fashion & Textiles Department at the McCord Museum. I also worked as an editor / curator of a visual arts publication and in retail merchandising and buying.

What drew you to fashion?
It is somewhat clichéd but I have always been interested in fashion. I grew up watching Fashion Television with my mother and flipping through magazines, drawing princesses in ball gowns, likely before I could read. I was captivated by the visual richness of glamour. Later, through art historical methods, I was able to analyze the visual culture of fashion from an academic perspective.

Why did you join this MA?
It is truly one of a kind! The professional and academic opportunities in London for this field are unlike those in any other place.

Where do you hope to be in two years from now?
Simply, I hope to be working! This could be in a museum, a publishing house, freelance, a university. I look forward to undertaking a PhD in the future.

Picture by : Fabien Maltais-Bayda

4 thoughts on “Featured Student: Paula Alaszkiewicz

  1. Pingback: Q&A with Agnès Rocamora | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  2. Pingback: Writing for Academic Journals | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  3. Pingback: Designing a Design Archive | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  4. Pingback: European Popular Culture Association Conference 2014 | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

Leave a Reply

