Featured Student : Erin Sheehan

How old are you?
I’m a Taylor Swift song, which means I am 22. However, I do not stay up all night dreaming; that is what the day is meant for.

Can you tell us about your background?
I am a Canadian who earned her undergraduate degree at Wilfrid Laurier University in Communication Studies. Go Golden Hawks! I am a recovering soap opera addict (I watched all but Passions) who lives in a hockey town. I believe this informed my life as a TV binge-watching hopeless romantic who has an interest in the complexities of fandom, and the subjects who are part of it.

What drew you into fashion?
As noted in a previous post I am a shy and introverted person. Fashion was the way I communicated with my peers in high school. I first dressed like a character; I never wore flats, and I didn’t believe in pants. One day this boy came up to me and said I looked like Ingrid Bergman, but not as she was in Casablanca (I still don’t know how to take that). I would study old movies and TV shows based on their clothes. Most of my papers in my undergrad were based on fashion.

Why did you join this MA?
I was always interested in going to London, and I was interested in the history of fashion so it seemed like the perfect choice.

What extra-curricular activities have you been involved with in the past few months?
I was very much like Rory Gilmore and did not enjoy being around many people that I do not know that well. However, since I needed to get out of the house – as my support system is five hours away – I have recently joined a running group. It’s a new experience for me as I grew up with the Gilmore mantra of no exercise and always Pop Tarts. In my spare time I am also going around to different vintage shops trying to find hockey jerseys.

Where do you hope to be in 2 years?
In two years I hope to still be in love with myself. That’s my goal in life as I have always been very unkind to who I am. This filters into what I want to do in my life. I really enjoy looking at hockey jerseys, mainly fan jerseys, so I would like to do something with that. I would also like to have written a book, or a television script, about the first time I fell in love with myself in Waterloo, Ontario, after falling hard for a person who was named after a literary villain. Now that I have admitted it publicly maybe I will do it.

5 thoughts on “Featured Student : Erin Sheehan

  1. Pingback: The Crop Top Resolution (or The Complications of Being a Dressed Young Female) | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  2. Pingback: Pop Culture and the Self – How TV Helped Me Shape My Style | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  3. Pingback: Dissertation Proposal : An Embodied Sea of Blue | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

Leave a Reply

