Featured Student : Lucie Weill

How old are you?
I am 22 years old.

Can you tell us about your background?
I studied private law at undergraduate level in Paris, and graduated in 2013 with a master’s degree in Business Law from Assas-La Sorbonne.

What drew you to fashion?
I have been in love with fashion since I was a little girl. I love the heritage, history, technical expertise, and communication of luxury fashion. That is the reason why I am particularly interested in French Maisons de Couture.

Why did you join this MA?
I joined this MA because, after a very academic background, I wanted to be skilled in what made – and still makes – fashion. I wanted to be surrounded by people that are as in love with garments as I am, but in an international perspective.

What extra-curricular activities have you been involved with in the past few months?
I am a very good cook! I cook all the time using very precise and meticulous recipes. I also read a lot. Mostly biographies about French couturiers: Yves Saint Laurent, André Courrèges, Gabrielle Chanel, Christian Dior, and Madeleine Vionnet, for example.

Where do you hope to be two years from now?
I would like to work in the digital department of a historic Maison de Couture. I love the idea of developing current technology for a prestigious heritage brand. That’s the reason why I would like to go back to France next year to do an MS in Marketing. I would also like to intern at prestigious luxury brands, and eventually find a job as a digital manager.

Leave a Reply

