Featured Student : Giuppy D’Aura

How old are you?

I am 29 years old.

Can you tell us about your background?

I have a bachelor’s degree in Film Studies, a master’s degree in History of Cinema, and I started a PhD in Italy but never completed it. I preferred to start again with fashion.

What drew you to fashion?

I don’t really know. Fashion is everywhere, overwhelming. I see it as a way to express both one’s status and one’s personality. It is the first thing that I notice when I look at someone. I can forget a ladies face, but if she is wearing a Céline or Hermès bag then I will remember her!

Why did you join this MA?

Fashion for me is not just a passion. I am not a fashion victim. I own a relatively small amount of clothes and almost all of them are just one color: black. My interest in fashion is more “scientific”. Understanding it is almost more important than using it. I joined this MA because I wanted to write and talk about fashion with a certain depth and intellectual precision, and to turn this ability into a future career.

What extra-curricular activities have you been involved with in the past few months?

I work full-time and I study full-time so I don’t have much time for extra-curricular activities. The only things that I do apart from university and work are: reading, writing for several online platforms (including this one, and my own blog, Against), and going to the gym (Schiaparelli used to say that the body needs to be trained to fit nicely into a dress, rather than having heavily structured garments that impose a shape to the body).

Where do you hope to be two years from now?

Writing, writing, writing. Working for a magazine, or writing press books and presentations for upcoming collections – this is what I did in Milan last year. A possible area that I would like to explore is branding; thinking strategically to help a brand define its identity. I would like to work in a place that requires my fashion knowledge. Namely, a job that prizes my MA from London College of Fashion.

4 thoughts on “Featured Student : Giuppy D’Aura

  1. Pingback: Peter Non: Walking Without Shoes | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  2. Pingback: Soha: When Sardinia meets CSM | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

  3. Pingback: Giulietta and the Da Vinci colour code | [In]Tangible: Redressing Fashion

Leave a Reply

